Photomatix-Pro-5-Feature-Review-featured-image

Photomatix Pro 5 – Review of the new features

Photomatix Pro 5 Feature Review - featured imageIn this video, I will take a look at the features of the brand new Photomatix Pro 5.

HDRSoft has released the long-awaited version 5 of their HDR software Photomatix Pro (still in beta as of this writing). And there is a number of new features for enthusiasts and professionals that can make your HDR post-processing a lot easier and more effective.

I will review the new features and give you some information on how to use them in your HDR work.

Here is the list of the most notable new features:

  1. There is a new tone mapping algorithm and a new exposure fusion algorithm.
  2. The Batch processing was updated to make it easier to use and more powerful.
  3. Automatic deghosting has been improved to give you more control.
  4. When you process a single RAW image, you can now also apply exposure fusion algorithms and Photomatix automatically tries to recover the highlight details.

In the video above, I am taking a look at each one of them in a bit more detail.

Leave a reply

27 Comments on "Photomatix Pro 5 – Review of the new features"


Guest
steve bastiman
1 year 5 months ago

Good heads up – thanks Klaus.

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

You’re welcome, Steve. I hope it helps you make a good decision in your next HDR purchase.

Cheers
Klaus

Guest
Bruce Hausmann
1 year 5 months ago

Klaus
I would like to purchase your e-book, but am not sure if I have already. Can you let me know if I have?
Thanks
Bruce Hausmann

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

Hi Bruce,

yes, you have purchased the eBook. Thanks!

Let me know if you need any assistance with it.

Cheers
Klaus

Guest
Bruce Hausmann
1 year 5 months ago

Thanks Klaus
I bought a new computer awhile back and maybe I lost the ebook. Is it possible you might resend it?
THANKS
Bruce Hausmann

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

Bruce,

a mail with a new download link should now be in your inbox. Enjoy!

Guest
Damien
1 year 5 months ago

Thanks Klaus,

Did you let hdrsoft know of the inclusions you mentioned.

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

I think they’re listening closely. At least I would if I were releasing a new Beta.

It’s all over social media. So, they should be able to pick it up. You can help by liking the posts.

Cheers
Klaus

Guest
Harry
1 year 5 months ago

Hallo Klaus,

leider funktioniert bei mir der Ton Deines Videos nicht. Schade.

Weißt Du vielleicht, wann Photomatix 5 als offizielle Version erhältlich sein wird?

Freundliche Grüße: Harry

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

Sorry! Mit dem Ton scheint alles in Ordnung zu sein. Vielleicht ist nur ein Plugin bei dir abgeschmiert. Nach einen Neustart sollte es klappen.

Gruß
Klaus

Guest
Harry
1 year 5 months ago

Danke. Ton funktioniert wieder.

Hast Du Infos bezüglich Verfügbarkeit der offiziellen Vollversion vpn Photomatix 5?

Gruß Harry

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

Hallo Harry,

HDRSoft hat meines Wissens nach bis jetzt noch keine Informationen zum Termin veröffentlicht. Ich habe die Frage an HDRsoft weitergeleitet. Mal sehen, was die dazu sagen.

Gruß
Klaus

Guest
Pat Kavanagh
1 year 5 months ago

A fair assesement Klaus. I think Photomatix has been sitting on their hands a little too long and as a result other HDR programs have taken a piece of their pie. Personally I am using Nik Efex HDR and am getting the results I want. I have not followed Photomatix news for a few years now but I have not heard of them making a plug-in for this for Photoshop or say Lightroom 5. Stand alone programs just might be “stand alone” in the future if they don’t team up with other editing software companies.

Your video’s and presentations are second to none! Great work! Nice and clean, professional, informative and short enough for my attention span. – Pat.

Author
farbspiel
1 year 5 months ago

Hi Pat!

Thanks for the feedback, my friend. Yes, HDRSoft has been quiet, or maybe they did not shout loud enough.

I still like the software and the images it produces. But they have to step up their game a few notches to stay in the game.

Take care
Klaus